Did you inherit your creativity? An ode to my Grandma…

The first memories I have of ‘Scrapbooking’ when I was a child was my grandma collecting the labels of plants in her garden. Today I found two books of these with her precious handwriting (dust and all on the covers!) as I was searching for something else in the cupboards of my spare bedroom.

To me, they truly are scrapbooks in a sense that there are literally scraps or plant labels with a few notes staples in to a binder.

My grandma passed away 15 years ago now and these are treasures for me. I am so grateful to have these as a record of her life, of her passion for gardening. What I wouldn’t give to have some journaling or photos of her garden to accompany them.

I like to think that the memories I keep for my children surely have meaning for them one day…right?!?

That’s why I am trying to use my handwriting where ever possible in my planners or layouts. It really is a piece of history frozen in time!

I’m sure my craftiness started from my grandmother’s genes…or maybe before her, I don’t know. I remember every Friday when she went shopping with my mum she would almost always have photos to pick up from the supermarket photo booth.

My grandma has many photo albums and would often write dates alongside the photos. Again, the beginning of what we know as Scrapbooking today.

This is one of my favourite photos of my grandma. It’s captures her silliness and fun for life. You can also see some of her plate collection on the back wall here. I miss her so much but remember her like yesterday. Photos like this help me hold on to those memories for a little longer.

My grandma used to be an avid gardener, loved to cross stitch, crochet, knit, hobby tex, collect stamps, spoons and plates. Do you think creativity is the veins or something that everyone has within them?

Leave me a comment below to share your thoughts.

One thought on “Did you inherit your creativity? An ode to my Grandma…

  1. That was nice Sarah, have pictures of grandmas garden if you want some. Only thing wrong grandma couldn’t crochet only knit.

    Like

Leave a comment