Stuck?! Sketches January Challenge

  

Hi all, I stumbled across this fantastic blog by accident really via my endless scouting of Facebook pages….well, lucky me! This blog looks great with a number of sketch challenges up on a regular basis, with amazing sponsors for the challenges too!

Here is the January sketch that I thought I’d give a go; 

 For the three photos I had chosen, I decided to turn the sketch on its side and get messy (again) and create a background for these gorgeous photos of my son.

Here is my layout; 

 I used Bo Bunny’s Learning Curve Recess patterned paper for the base of this layout. After applying a coat of clear gesso to seal the paper, I then also applied a coat of white gesso to most of the papers surface. I wanted the look of the diamond pattern peeking through but not too much of the green colour.

Golden coarse moulding paste was applied across the page to give some texture and a grungy feel to the layout.

I pulled out my Faber Castell gelatos (in tangerine and mango) to create the colour for this background – I applied them in places and spritzed with water to create this effect.

The papers edges were distressed and backed on some black card stock. I used a WOW chipboard piece, painted black for the side feature, paired with white punchinella and some patterned paper from my stash.

The gorgeous Charms Creations chevron and star helped embellish this layout, along with the spunky flair from the D’Lish ‘After Five’ JAP kit.

The title was stamped onto black cardstock using the Hand Drawn Alphabet set by Katie Pertiet (I love this stamp set and its versatility for many layouts!) and then embossed using Ranger white embossing powder then cut out.

Black splatters completed the layout – drawing the orange background and black embellishments together.

Here are some close up shots; 

    
   
Thanks for visiting my blog and be sure to do yourself a favour and check out the Stuck?! Sketches blog too!

5 thoughts on “Stuck?! Sketches January Challenge

Leave a Reply

