Scrap The Boys January Mood Board Challenge

  I had so much fun challenging myself with the Scrap The Boys January mood board. Here is the mood board; 
 Whilst I love the colour purple, it’s not a colour I would go to for a layout of my boys. I took inspiration from Fiona Paltridge’s art journal layout using watercolours and set about making my background for this layout.

I started with a gesso background and added some ripped music sheet paper to parts of it. I added modelling paste randomly across the page to add texture then had fun using Heidi Swapp’s colour shine spray (Patina) with water to create a coloured effect across the page.

At times I wasn’t sure how the background would turn out (it’s hard to control those paint sprays and the direction in which they fall!). I then added some patches of Peerless Watercolours in purple and dark green to add to the layers.

I used some background stamps and distress ink to colour the wooden veneer pieces. Once inked, I then embossed them using Ranger clear embossing powder. The little flowers I sprayed with the same Heidi Swapp spray so the shade of green would match with the layout.

I matted the photos (I love these from my husbands birthday in 2014) on green card stock, green spotted tissue paper from a D’Lish Scraps JAP kit and white tissue paper that I received from a package in the mail.

The gorgeous title ‘Cutie patiootie’ is a wooden veneer from Flutterby Designs that I white embossed.

I used the new Stampin Up Memories in the Making Project Life stamp set to add some final touches to the layout. I LOVE this new range!

Here are some close up shots 


    
I love how this layout turned out!! Thanks for joining me!

7 thoughts on “Scrap The Boys January Mood Board Challenge

  1. Amazing page Sarah! The watercolour background is fabulous, and I love all the texture. Awesome interpretation of the mood board. Well done and thanks for joining us at STB

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

