Faber Castell Design Team Application…

Mixed Media Owl Napkin Card Project  
I thought I have nothing to lose by sending off my application for the Faber Castell Design Memory Craft design team call. This is the one of all ones that I long to be a part of….a great opportunity nevertheless. I hope you enjoy my mixed media owl napkin card!

For this project, I used a 6X4 inch card that I had previously printed on cardstock using my Gelliarts Gelli Plate. The Gelli Plate is the ultimate in monoprinting without a press! It would have to be one of my favourite scrapping tools at the moment! 

I then grabbed one of my favourite napkins (I love owls) and carefully removed the top thin layer. Patience is the key here as it is very easy to rip the napkin.  Using Faber Castell’s gel medium, apply this with a paint brush to the card then place the napkin over the top. Continue with more gel medium and the brush to cover over the top of the napkin, adhering this to the card. Again, be gentle and take your time with this as the napkin may tear as it becomes more delicate when the gel medium is applied. I then dried the card with my heat tool. 

 Take your Heidi Swapp Colour Shine in Gold and spray across the top of the card, holding it upright as it drips down the page. This is lovely to watch – love the shimmer of the gold as it drips down over the image on the card. Again, dry the card with your heat tool.

  You can see above an up close shot of that gorgeous gold spray! Love it!  

Ink the edges of the card to add some definition. I like to use Memento Tuxedo Black. I then grabbed my Spinning Tops mini stencil from The Crafters Workshop and applied Faber Castell’s glass bead gel through the stencil randomly in three places on the card. I find the easiest way for me to do this is with a palette knife. I then leave this to dry overnight. 

 You can see in these close up photos below just how beautiful the glass bead gel is once dried. Coupled with the gold spray, the shimmer is adoreable! 

 I found a quote that I loved, printed it on my ink jet printer and cut it into strips. Again, inking the edges of this in black makes it really pop out against the background. Strips were adhered to the card.  

Finally, I then mixed some black acrylic paint with a little water and used my Chinese fan brush to add some black splatters to the card.  

I hope this has inspired you to give a mixed media napkin card a go and thanks for tuning in!

 

Leave a Reply

